Page 1 of 1

Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:16 am
by RussDirks
UPDATE 1 : The Input Relay feature is now available in general release version 2.8.1.9. Please visit the Downloads section.

UPDATE 2 : The erratic input issue appears to be fixed in P3D v3.2. You can continue to use the Input Relay feature if you wish, but it is not necessary.

As of version 2.8.1.9, FS Force supports an Input Relay feature. This feature is intended work around the input problems with P3D v3, namely the erratic control inputs when using the MSFF2 joystick. The idea with Input Relaying is that FS Force captures all necessary joystick input and then relays it directly into P3D, bypassing the buggy P3D input functions.

Note that this is very similar to what FSUIPC does, so make sure that you don't use both. If you use FSUIPC, you don't need this feature, and vice versa.

At present, only axis relaying is supported. You still need to use either P3D or FSUIPC to handle button presses. Note that Input Relaying conflicts with Autopilot Follow and Aileron Remapping (both part of the Yoke Addon package). This is only for customers using the MSFF2.

Instructions:
  1. Download the latest version of FS Force and install it over top of your existing installation.
  2. Open up C:\ProgramData\FS Force\FSForce.cfg in your favourite text editor.
  3. Copy & Paste the entire code section below into your FSForce.CFG file. Place it either at the very
    beginning or end of the file. (If you know what you're doing, you can place it
    somewhere in the middle ... just make sure you don't split an existing section in two.)
  4. The settings in the code section should work as is. However, you are free to adjust the NullZone
    if you get too much sensitivity in the control at the neutral position. You can
    also adjust CenterOffset if the controls don't seem properly centered. See the
    comments next to the settings for more detailed information.
  5. Start P3D and go into Options / Settings / Controls / Axis
  6. Delete all axis assignments for the MSFF2.
  7. You shouldn't need to change anything in FS Force.
;=====================================================================================


Code: Select all


[InputRelay]

; 1=turn input relaying on
; 0=turn input relaying off (all remaining settings in this section will be ignored.)
Active=1

;=====================================================================================
;  AILERONS
;=====================================================================================

; Normally set to AXIS_AILERONS_SET
X.Axis=AXIS_AILERONS_SET

; maximum possible value : 10000
X.NullZone=0

; Use this if the controls don't seem properly centered. Allowable range: -16383 to 16383
X.CenterOffset=0

; Use this if you need to reverse an axis. 0=Normal, 1=Reverse
X.Reverse=0

;=====================================================================================
;  ELEVATOR
;=====================================================================================

; Normally set to AXIS_ELEVATOR_SET
Y.Axis=AXIS_ELEVATOR_SET
Y.NullZone=0
Y.CenterOffset=0
Y.Reverse=0

;=====================================================================================
;  RUDDER
;=====================================================================================

; Normally set to AXIS_RUDDER_SET
RZ.Axis=AXIS_RUDDER_SET
RZ.NullZone=0
RZ.CenterOffset=0
RZ.Reverse=0

;=====================================================================================
;  THROTTLE
;=====================================================================================

; Normally set to AXIS_THROTTLE_SET
Slider.Axis=AXIS_THROTTLE_SET
Slider.CenterOffset=0
Slider.Reverse=0

Re: Beta version with Input Relaying

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:59 pm
by elmond
Hello Russ,

this works like a charem. Amazaing. I finally cann now let go of the stick to adjust knobs like i could irl and the force is spot on.

One minor thing though.I presume you call the state of the stick every x time frames. If I fly a plane with Thrust reverse like the Twin Otter from Aerosoft I used to pull back the stick throttle and then press F2 continously to reverse.

This will not work anymore since it is always reset to 0 throttle now. Other than tha, really good work. Transformed p3d for me

Re: Beta version with Input Relaying

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:36 am
by RussDirks
I will check into this as soon as possible. I may be able to suspend the input relay temporarily if thrust reverse is active.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:48 am
by RussDirks
I've got a new version of the beta that only transmits control input if the value is different. See the first post on this thread to download it. I've tested with thrust reverse and it seems to work ok. Please report back if you find any more problems.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:34 pm
by Terrydew
Hi Russ

I have the Iris yoke. Do I need this beta? Will it work with the yoke option?

Thanks
Terry

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:04 am
by RussDirks
Terrydew wrote:I have the Iris yoke. Do I need this beta? Will it work with the yoke option?


The new Input Relay function I've added conflicts with AP Follow and Aileron Remapping, so you probably don't want to use it. Its main purpose is to solve some input problems with the MSFF2.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:33 pm
by Emile
Hello,
Thanks for the "beta" it solves the problem. :)

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2016 5:08 am
by elmond
Yep for me too. Great work. I could not be happier with my purchase.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:49 am
by stampee
Hello: I tried the beta and still am losing forces on my msff2.
I made sure fsuipc is not on, and deleted all forces in prepar3d.
Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings.
-stampee

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:06 pm
by Emile
Hello,
P3D V3.2.3
Do you will provide an updated Fs Force version?
Thanks in advance

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:59 pm
by RussDirks
No update necessary. Just continue using FS Force as usual. Based on my testing, the erratic control input with the MSFF2 seems to be fixed. If you have been using the "Input Relay" work-around, you can try disabling.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:43 am
by RussDirks
Also, please see my post in the News section.

Re: Erratic control input with MSFF2 : WORK-AROUND

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:21 pm
by Emile
RussDirks wrote:No update necessary. Just continue using FS Force as usual. Based on my testing, the erratic control input with the MSFF2 seems to be fixed. If you have been using the "Input Relay" work-around, you can try disabling.



Hi,
Your addon works very well I do not disable the work around.
Thanks for this addion
Have a nice day